Faux capiz lighting
Faux capiz lighting

 

http://www.craftynest.com/2009/02/faux-capiz-shell-lampshade/

Okay-so here’s the story on this cool lamp.  I was browsing the Robbins blog and decided to check out the Shabby Chic Blog link that Sarah had been looking at and like magic, there was this beautiful capiz chandlier and Kay thought…”That would be so perfect in a little girl Thompson’s room!”  Alas-the cheapest one that I could find was $70 and to be honest, it was kinda skimpy on the shells.   So I googled the same thing with “faux” in front and found this DIY blog with this awesome knock-off!  If Little One turns out to be Brianna Kay (as opposed to Jack Dossie), my plan is to make one without a light to go over her crib like a mobile and another lamp for the table/dresser in her room.  I think it’ll be perfect with her black and white toile crib bedding ($15 at a yard sale!) and pale pink walls!! 

