*official warning: this may turn into a rant*

To be completely honest, I forgot all about this.  Daniel had an MRI last week and this week, he has a really bad virus, and an ear infection, AND his molars are coming in!  Poor little guy!!  Nevertheless, he is asleep right now and hopefully will remain so until I can finish this post (although the folks upstairs have been blasting rap music this morning and it’s a miracle that he’s asleep now).

Here’s a little exerpt from the Norris article (in case you didn’t do your homework):

The bill says that the government agents, “well-trained and competent staff,” would “provide parents with knowledge of age-appropriate child development in cognitive, language, social, emotional, and motor domains … modeling, consulting, and coaching on parenting practices,” and “skills to interact with their child to enhance age-appropriate development.”

Most of you would probably think that Child Development major and teacher Kay would be all about this.  Here’s my deal with this  section: we don’t need it!  Granted-there ARE parents who need it, but that’s not what I mean.  I mean, these services are already available in a number of locations: Planned Parenthood, any crisis pregnancy center, most family homeless shelters, most childcare facilities, and a number of local churches, just to name a few off the top of my head!  There are plenty of public and private resources for parents who want to seek help in parenting.

“Well, Kay, what about those who need the help, but don’t want it?  Their kids need it more, right?”

Maybe-it depends on your point of view BUT ObamaCare “promises” (I use this word lightly with politicians) that the program is voluntary SO those parents wouldn’t get the help then either unless…

Now the trouble begins.

…unless the government won’t be quite so passive as to patiently wait for those poor, uneducated, pathetic parents (I hope you hear my sarcasim coming through) to come banging down their down, begging for help.  The trouble is that in spite of my background, I DO believe that children need punishment when they do wrong and not just reinforcement when they do right.  I DO believe that it is appropriate to spank/pop (not hit) a child to teach him what is permitted and what isn’t.  I DO think that there are some things more important than my sons’ self-esteems or feelings of competence.  And eventually, someone else may decide that I’m wrong enough to need their help.  Guess what?  I don’t want it.  I seek the counsel of my pastor, other parents, my family, and yes, my child development texts when I have a question about Daniel. Then I line them up on the standard of God’s word, and Brian and I make a decision as Daniel and Jack’s parents because in the end, it’s a responsiblity that God has laid at our feet, not at the feet of the US government.

And that’s not going to change whether this health care reform passes or not. The people of this nation, as a whole, seem very easily intimidated into giving up their personal liberties, but the parental, God-ordained right to raise my sons is not one that I am giving up-one way or the other.

