I’ve been wanting to read Treasuring God in our Traditions by Noel Piper for some time, and recently sent out an email to the ladies in our body to see if any of them owned and would be willing it share it.  Thankfully, one did (Thanks, Shelley!) and sent it home with Brian on Monday after he’d been at the Johnston house.  Some of you know my intense love of books so it won’t come as a surprise to you that I tore through those 100 pages in the in-betweeny times of the last day and a half.  There was SO much encouragement for me in those pages.

I expected to find (and did find) ideas for our family holidays.  I’ve been thinking about them a lot this year since Daniel is old enough now to begin participating in ways other than eating and ripping up paper.  There were many ideas that I am contemplating; at my request, Brian is going to read it over the next few days (although he also loves books, he probably will not be gobbling this one up the way I did) so that we can discuss certain aspects of our holiday traditions and how we want to approach them starting this year.

However, I was also blessed to find encouragement for myself as a stay-at-home mom.  Encouragement to not waste our days together during this important time in Daniel’s life.  Sure-he will never remember that this morning we read scripture together after breakfast, but if we do it every morning, it will become part of what he recognizes as part of our routine or as Noel states it, an “everyday” tradition.  Of course Brian is the spiritual leader of our home but as the parent who is staying home, the bulk of the daily teaching and pointing to Christ falls to me-what a privilege!  If you feel like you’re just getting through the days and taking the opportunities as you see them, I encourage you to read this book and begin to plan and be intentional about how your daily routines and traditions point your children (or nieces, nephews, neighborhood kids, church-body kids) to the Lord!

