I’m hosting the BUNCO group that I attend for the month of November and so our obvious theme is going to be Thanksgiving.  Therefore I’ve been reflecting on things that I’m thankful for a little earlier than usual.  Instead of giving you a long list of the blessings that God has poured into my life, my plan is to focus on one at a time and truly take the time to be thankful for them individually–hope you’ll be able to endure it.

I’ll start with the biggie – the Gospel.  It’s simply amazing.  God loved me when I hated Him and made a way for me have a relationship with Him by doing the unthinkable, allowing His Son to sacrifice Himself in my place.  This fact has indeed purchased all of the happiness, peace, and pleasure that I am able to have in this life and secures the everlasting pleasure of His presence both here and in heaven.  Whoa (or as Daniel would say “Oooooo!).  What’s even more astonishing to me is that I daily turn away from what I know to be true, choosing sin instead, and yet He continues to be faithful in His love for me.  God’s provision of salvation is by far His greatest blessing in my life and the one that Brian and I daily pray that He will give to our sons-it’s better than health, wealth, fame, or any other worldly measure of blessing.

