My friend Sarah recently posted about a challenge that she heard on the radio to set yourself a one-word goal for 2010.  When I read the post, I immediately thought of my word.  Service.  Yep-that’s my word. 

But then, I realized that it wasn’t really my word.  Here’s the deal.  It’s hard to say this without sounding complainy so I’ll just state that that’s not how my heart feels and trust that you believe me.  From the time Jack cries for breakfast til the time I lay down at night (finally), I feel like I go nonstop.  That obviously isn’t true since I’m typing this post but it’s eating into my 30 minutes of shower/get dressed time otherwise known as Daniel’s TV time.  At least once a day (and typically more) I am weary of my service and want to stop for a little while.  Let the house be filthy.  Let Brian make his own dinner.  Let Daniel watch TV all day (he’d love that).  Just so I can rest.  What a poopy attitude!  So my word really needed to be Glad Service, but that’s two words!  Thus, glavice.  I know it’s not a word, but it’s my word.

Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward.  You are serving the Lord Christ.    Col. 3:23

I don’t think that it’s a coincidence that this verse comes at the end of a passage that instructs wives, husbands, children, parents, and slaves about their roles in a Christian home.  God knew that if we were working for the other people around us, our attitudes would turn bad.  If I can keep this verse in front of my mind, glavice might not be THAT difficult.

Time to go-only 15 minutes left to shower and dress:)

