I love Photoscape.  It’s easy to learn, easy to use, and FREE (my favorite price).  I’ve been using it for a while now and was very happy with it…except I couldn’t find a way to make a picture black and white with selective color.  I have an adorable picture of Daniel in October 2008 surrounded by pumpkins in which his orange stripe on his sweater and the pumpkins are in color but everything else is b&w.  It was looking like no such picture of Jack would ever exist because I definitely was not going to pay for one now that I realize how much I can do on my own and for free.  Bummer.

Well a few nights ago, I was lamenting all of this out loud to Mr. Thompson and he suggested that we go on an internet quest to find a free program that could do it.  After quite a bit of searching, we found Gimp.  Free.  And it can do selective colorization!  Hooray!  Look at my sweet baby boy!

*Disclaimer: Jack’s eyes are actually not this color- haha!  They are currently a bluish gray but that didn’t really show up that well, so I changed them!  This bath picture shows the actual color of his eyes.

See what I mean?  You can’t really tell that they’re in color.  Anyway…I’m thrilled with my new possibilities!

