We have had several blessings in regards to Daniel in the last few days, and I wanted to keep you updated so…

1. Monday we went to the neurologist for Daniel’s 6 month check-up.  We have been every six months since his diagnosis.  When we saw the doctor on Monday, she said that she was “not worried about him at all,” and commented that all of the things that he is struggling to do (getting dressed on his own, cutting with scissors, standing on one foot) are all age-appropriate struggles.  She was even willing to not see him again for a year, but we decided to make it six months anyway because I will be wanting her opinion about his therapy needs as he approaches his third birthday.

2. Today the head physical therapist from the office that serves Daniel came out to do an assessment and determine if she thought he needed a brace for his right foot.  In May, they told us that this was very likely since he was still running on his toes and rolling his ankle in when he runs.  After the PT observed him today, she said that he didn’t need the brace and that if I had wanted to, she would even have been willing to discontinue services because he is doing so well.  I chose to continue at least until his third birthday, but it is so encouraging to hear from professionals that he is doing so well.  Sometimes it’s so hard to see progress because I’m working with him every day and the increases in strength and ability are so gradual.

3.  Then, just for icing on my cake, Daniel sang with me tonight for the first time.  Now, Daniel has done some “singing” before but it doesn’t really count because (as my Daddy says) the Lord says, “Make a joyful noise,” but it doesn’t say anything about racket!  Well tonight as I was putting on Daniel’s PJs, I sang “A Thankful Heart” (I think that’s the name of it) from the Madame Blueberry VeggieTales.  Here are the lyrics to the chorus.  Daniel sang the words that are bolded.

Because a thankful heart is a happy heart.  I’m glad for what I have.  That’s an easy way to start.  For a God who really cares and listens to my prayers, that’s why I say thanks every day.

No shortage of reasons to be thankful today!  God continues to provide all that we need and adds extra blessings along the way!

Here’s a picture just for fun!

