As I have been thinking over the past year, I’ve realized that I have been living in what I used to call “survival mode.”  That’s what a lot of folks from college called the first year of teaching, when you’re just trying to get your feet wet and not let the kids get the best of you.  That’s definitely where I’ve been, and by God’s grace, I’ve made it out with my sanity intact.  Surprisingly, (well, it’s a surprise to me anyway) I’m okay with that.  We’ve had a lot of changes in the past 1.5 years, and there were a multitude of good things that had to give way to more important things.  That being said, it’s time for me to escape from survival mode.  Over the next few days, I’m planning on making some lists (I love lists) of things that I want to be intentional about during this year.  Then I’m going to use this blog as accountability.  Because if it’s written down for the world to see, I’m more apt to do it.  Sad, but true.

