I’ve had some questions about my adventures in couponing and on-the-cheap grocery shopping so I decided to do a quick post about this week’s shopping trips (well, today’s anyway ūüôā ).¬† Today I hit three stores; typically I’m not able to do this with both boys in tow but it was a short list for each store so we got in and out pretty quickly.¬† When I left the house this morning, I had $15 and some change in my wallet and already knew that I was not going to add a trip to the bank into our morning so my goal was to get as much real food and necessities as possible with my available money.¬† Here are my totals before and after coupons.

Harris Teeter original total – $14.02¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† paid after coupons¬†¬† –¬† $4.24

Aldi original total¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† – $9.12¬† (Aldi has rock bottom prices but doesn’t accept coupons.¬† I don’t add this in to my amount saved with¬†coupons,¬†but I saved approximately $5 today just by getting some things at Aldi–like milk for $1.99/gallon as opposed to $3.79 at Wal-Mart.)

Wal-Mart original total       -$2.88            paid after coupons    Р$1.88

total spent this week  Р$15.24

total saved from coupons  Р$11.66

Looking at these two numbers, I saved 43% on my grocery bill this week.¬† If you consider the $5 or so that I saved by shopping at Aldi, that percentage goes up to 52%.¬† Essentially, if I hadn’t used coupons today, I would have come home with only my Harris Teeter purchases: napkins, yogurt, Crystal Light, and sandwich meat.¬† Instead, I came home with all of this.

Someone will notice the cake icing.¬† No, it’s not exactly a necessity but today is my sweet husband’s birthday and buying the icing for $1.29 was a¬†lot cheaper than buying the ingredients to make it from scratch ūüôā

