“Good speech quells chaos and produces joy and life; bad speech produces chaos and leads to despair and death.” 

Words are so powerful.  Children who are told that “words can never hurt me” are just being lied to by a well-meaning adult.  Words can hurt, and in some  cases, it is the kind of pain that lasts the longest.

Thankfully, words are also powerful in the helpful sense.  My husband and sons are glorious image-bearers of their creator, and while I wish to avoid frivolous, self-sufficient kinds of “positive talk,” I can always praise who they are because of the image in which they were made.  I am praying that the Lord will continue to grow me in speaking encouraging, aimed-toward-growth words to the sons that He has entrusted to my care for the purpose of pointing them towards God and Godly manhood.

