I’m up to my elbows in cake batter getting ready for Jack’s birthday party tomorrow, but I thought about sharing this idea and decided to do it right away instead of waiting (and then forgetting).  Since Jack’s birthday party is so close to Christmas, I try to have cupcakes in lieu of cake so that I can tuck 4 cupcakes away in the freezer.  Then on Christmas Eve, I thaw them out, ice them, and serve them in the morning at “Jesus’ birthday party.”  Um…yes, I just admitted that one day a year, my children eat a cupcake for breakfast but if the Savior of the world isn’t a reason to celebrate, I don’t know what is!!

We each light a candle in our cupcake, light that last Advent candle, sing “Happy Birthday” to Jesus, blow our candles out and smile as we gobble up our breakfast 🙂

*Special note: no one has difficulty being truly thankful for breakfast on Christmas morning!!

