During Jack’s birthday party on Saturday, a package was delivered to the house for me.  Towards the end of the gathering, I slipped off to my bedroom and opened the box.  The breakable contents (dessert plates!) were packed with striped of paper filling every possible area in that box.  Trust me when I tell you that there was no chance that those plates were going to break.  Anyway, the crowd left and I began to meander through the house picking up displaced items.  Mr. Thompson had graciously run out to get take-out for dinner.  To be honest, I was exhausted.  It had been a long day.  I walk into my room, and…..{deep inhale}

The picture doesn’t do it justice; the room was covered in the packing strips.  Covered.  I stopped for a second to evaluate the situation.

In my head:

I am going to have to clean this mess up one way or the other.  Options.  #1-Put a stop to all this fun and clean up this mess…NOW!  #2-Have a little fun with the boys and clean it up later.

I think that I made the right choice 🙂  Mr. Thompson did too (although he admitted that he was somewhat surprised!).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Especially over these past few days, I’ve been thinking about how fleeting our lives are.  My boys will be grown before I know it, and I am trying to soak up as much of their childhood as I can.

Also I can happily report that the paper swept up easily, and that it took Mr. Thompson and I less than 5 minutes to get it all up!

