Well, well!  Guess who has already read three of the books on her reading list?!?  I wish that I could say that I could keep this up but actually I’ve cheated a little.  I began reading Debt-Free U before Jan. 1 and Loving the Little Years was a quick read.  Nonetheless I will be encouraged about my progress!  I’m going to try to do a quick little recap of the books this year; I kept meaning/wanting to last year but alas, I can’t get around to all of the things that fall into that category.  So this post is the only one I’ll promise.  But I really do want to try to do it each month.

Debt-Free U  by Zac Bissonnette

I liked this book and found it informative.  I would recommend it to parents who anticipate helping their child(ren) with college expenses but don’t feel prepared to do so.  Most of the information will be helpful for parents with kids in middle/high school but some of the concepts can go younger (i.e. teaching your young children about the value of hard work and money).  There were some topics that he rattled on and on about, and I got a little bored BUT in his defense, I was already on his same wavelength and didn’t  need to be convinced of his points (usually).  This is a “read as required” book; I’d never choose it as entertainment literature 🙂

Organized Simplicity by Tsh Oxenreider

Talk about a challenge in binding!!  Tsh lays out a very appealing picture for what a simple life can free you up to do and then maps out a path to help you get there.  I wish that I could say that my cleaning/purging kept pace with my reading, but it would be a lie.  It was a helpful book, and a good read if you are in need of some organizational motivation or know-how.  The book offers a clear day-by-day route to a less cluttered existence, but if you’re in a busy season of life, it’ll probably take more that the 10 prescribed days to accomplish this feat.

Loving the Little Years: Motherhood in the Trenches by Rachel Jankovic

If you only have few minutes to read but really need some encouragement, I’ve found your book!  This book was such a refreshment for me – an honest, practical, God-honoring glimpse into mothering young children.  Although I was trying to do as little of this as possible, I might actually purchase this one.  Jankovic sums her message up well on the last page and I’ll just give you a little taste:

               …if you accept your lot and rejoice in your toil, God will give you the kind of overwhelming joy that cannot remember the details.  Motherhood is hard work.  It is repetitive and often times menial.  Accept it.  Rejoice in it.

If you’re short on reading time or just aren’t much of a reader, I’d highly recommend this book to you, but I’d say that any mom of little ones would benefit from reading this book.

