I can vaguely remember some summers past when I could decide at 8 am that I wanted to go to the beach, and I’d be there by 11.  In my chair, with my book, already sunscreened up, with a bottle of water staying cool-ish in the shade of my beach chair.  Or a similar situation except Mr. Thompson and I were heading to a theme park or museum with friends.

{Enter children}

Let me start by saying that I wouldn’t trade my boys for all of the carefree days that a life without children offers.  Nope.  Never.  I longed for and praying for these boys, and God in his mercy granted the desire of my heart.  Nonetheless it’s been exciting this summer to be somewhat out from under the restraints of multiple nap times and other such considerations.  Still.  It took me hours (literally) on Friday to prepare for our day trip to the ocean on Saturday.  On the drive home, I remembered a post that I read on Moneysavingmom.com that recommended keeping a spontaneous fun bag in your car during the warm months and decided that I’d find and reread it when I got home.  Yep…we’re going to try this!  The idea is to have the basics already packed so that you can hit the road – for the ocean or just the park – relatively quickly!  This is what we’ll put in our trunk TODAY!

  • water bottles in an empty cooler (just add ice on our way out of town)
  • baby wipes
  • hand sanitizer
  • coupons for fast food/ice cream places (esp. the ice cream places)
  • non-perishable snacks
  • sunscreen
  • lip balm
  • sheet/blanket
  • bug spray
  • roll of paper towels
  • plastic grocery bags (for trash)

In the future I’d also like to add beach towels to this list but we currently only own enough for our regular use.  I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

Any ideas of other things that I should add to the list?

