Today Daniel decided that he is too big for his green chair.  It’s technically a high chair but we’ve never used the tray; we just pulled his chair right up to the table because it’s an old-fashion wooden chair that just made him tall enough for the table.  See?

 

Perfect, right?  Well, evidently not anymore.  Daniel just came to the table for lunch this afternoon and said, “Mommy, I need a white chair.  The green chair is too little for me.”  Heartrending.  I know that’s ridiculous.  When Mr. Thompson came home for lunch, I told him all about it (Daniel was perched up in his white chair at the moment.) and explained that it actually would be better for Daniel to be higher up at the table for the sake of using his right hand more/better.  Mr. Thompson was beaming with pride up until this point.  He quietly whispered that we could insist that Daniel use the green chair if I thought it was that big of a deal.  But.  Oh.  Sigh.  I don’t want to crush this little budding manhood over a chair, and it’s obvious that he would consider it an affront to his young masculinity to be forced to sit in the “baby chair” any longer.  Tonight as I was putting him to bed, I made one last attempt.  “Are you sure that you don’t want to sit in your green chair any more?  It’s okay to keep sitting in your green chair if you want to.”  “No, Mom [not “Mommy” 😦 ], I want to sit in just the white chair.”  I guess that we’ll have to start doing school work at the little table because he really does need to be higher up for writing and doing puzzles and such.  Oh, how I wish I could put these years in slow motion.

Well, I wish that right this very second with everyone tucked into bed.  🙂

