I have 17 minutes to type.  No more.  The muffins will be ready in 17 minutes, and I watched the debate last night instead of cooking breakfast for this morning.  

Normally I don’t talk politics online.  I have an opinion (of course) but I’ve found that it’s not worth a fight unless it infringes upon my ability to live for Christ or raise my children to do so.  But I just can’t help responding to the Sesame Street digs that I’ve seen all over my Facebook feed this morning so here I go.

1.  Big Bird’s going to be just fine.  Don’t worry.  If the government decides to stop supporting PBS and they go under, every local TV station in America is going to wet their pants with excitement at the possibility of airing Sesame Street.  A show with that kind of longevity and viewer-loyalty, not to mention the enormous commercial product presence, is safe no matter what happens to PBS.

2.  Some people are blessed with the resources to buy what they want when they want it, but in my (admittedly limited) experience, most people do not fall into that category.  Therefore, when someone needs – but more often, wants – something, they make a decision.  They can purchase it on credit or do without.  Let me give you a personal example.  I’ve never owned new living room furniture.  Not once in 10 years of marriage.  Would I love to buy some?  YOU BET!  But Mr. Thompson and I have made the decisions to live on one income so that I am able to care for our home and children and to live within our means.  If suddenly we couldn’t afford to feed our boys, would I borrow the money to do so?  IN A SKINNY MINUTE and no interest rate would stop me.  But a couch?  No, thanks.  It’s just not worth the enslavement of debt and the cost of borrowing.  Gov. Romney last night made the point that supporting PBS was great but…now this is important…was not worth borrowing money from China.  He didn’t say that he’d love to cut loads of federal grants and donations; he said that he would have to decide on an individual basis if those programs were worth the enslavement of debt and the cost of borrowing.  I like Sesame Street, but I agree with his assessment.  National debt enslaves us to other countries in the same way that personal debt enslaves people to an ever-growing minimum payment on credit cards.

I could go on, but the beeper says that the muffins are ready.  

