It’s humbling to be the authority on all things for one’s children.  It highlights my inadequacy.  Tonight I was asked to confirm the doctrine being preached at church (“Is that true, Mommy?” asked little Daniel several times during today’s services) as well as called upon to determine if a particular cell phone tower was taller than a Transformer.  I confirmed the doctrine, but had to honestly say, “I just don’t know, buddy, ” when it came to the Transformer.  Of course, they know that Transformers are fictional, but if they were real…

I have always known that I didn’t have all the answers, but I never knew how few answers I had when compared to the number of questions that two curious boys can ask in the course of the day.  Some are completely insignificant, but others are of the utmost significance.  The utmost.  Sometimes the ones of utmost significance are the hardest for me to answer because God is bigger, much, much bigger than what I can describe or explain.  And so I pray.  And I pray.  And I pray.  I pray for the humility to say that I don’t know when I don’t know.  I pray that I would have increasing understanding.  And I pray that God will fill in the gaps left by my humanity.

